Baby Smyth. Due January 2017.

Baby Smyth is due January 2017!

We are SO excited for this little baby to come. While quite a surprise we couldn’t be happier to bring this sweet babe into this world.

We both found out I was expecting on May 15th and since then it has been a whirlwind of excitement and confusion as we try to figure out how to adjust to being a family of 4 versus a family of 3.

We had our first appointment on June 17th. I had been staying with my parents in Chicago helping my dad out with my siblings as he was traveling for work and my mother was in Ecuador for 2 months. Shane drove down for the appointment that morning and we left for our appointment.

I didn’t know what to expect and just went with what they had me to. I was weighed, had my blood taken, and then we had our first ultrasound! I was so worried before that I would get there and they would have to tell me that I wasn’t pregnant, it was just a false positive etc. But there our baby was, on the screen looking so precious. We were also lucky to hear the heartbeat and it was so beautiful.

I don’t know if I can ever put into words how beautiful it was to see and hear our baby right then and there and to know that they were alive and well. It was so raw and emotional, I was crying and we were both in awe at how we created this precious little being. There’s no words to explain the love I have for this little baby and I know that love will grow into something bigger and better as time goes on.

While we had originally thought I was 8 weeks along we were surprised to actually be told I was 9 weeks and 3 days at the time of the appointment. We got our due date, January 17th 2017 and then came the flood of information on everything I can and can’t do while pregnant. It was so much to take in and thankfully I got a HUGE packet that I refer to every once in awhile.

We got our announcement photos done and are so happy to share them as we announced with friends and family.

So here’s to you little one, we are already so excited to see your little face again at our next appointment.

Leave a Reply

